Happiness Teachers Can be Furry, Part 1 by da-AL

Image courtesy of Gidion Lubbe at FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Image courtesy of Gidion Lubbe at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Once upon a time…

Happiness was mine. Everything was going right. My loved ones were all relatively content and healthy, I lived in a nice place, and I had just married a wonderful man.

Little did I know, I could be even happier. Less did I know, my happiness teachers would be furry.

Image courtesy of Tina Phillips at FreeDigitalPhotos.net
Image courtesy of Tina Phillips at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

At the time, my husband and I owned two cute cats.

Depending on whether you were family, one or the other could be welcoming.

The cats were my idea. My husband has every reason to abhor cats; they make his eyes run, his throat scratch, and his nose itch. Nonetheless, he agreed to adopt some. Sweet guy that he is, he quickly fell in love with our felines.

Back then…

All animals charmed me, but I was an avowed cat lover. Cats are gorgeous, and better yet, they require minimal attention.

Dogs were cute, but not enough to merit all the bother that owning one comes with. They need to be trained and they need daily walks, they chew valuables, they slobber everywhere, they jump on passersby, and they bark endlessly at all hours. The worst of them are biters.

Despite what those who loathe cats tell me, in my experience, cats are lovely, easy, and good. Sure, an occasional hair-trigger neurotic will nip or scratch at small things, but those are in the minority.

My husband loves dogs. Given that he had agreed to our two cats, adding a dog to our home was only fair. Dog haters especially, please read on to “Happiness Teachers Can be Furry, Part 2.”

8 thoughts on “Happiness Teachers Can be Furry, Part 1 by da-AL

  1. What a wonderful way to capture that animals have healing capacity and that we can learn so much from being as unconditional in the way we look at others- just like your animals look at you. Sweet blog !.. keep them coming

    Like

Share the joy: click buttons and engage with us. *** Note: WordPress insists ‘likers’ sign in. ‘Commenters,’ fortunately, need not. My email: ContactdaAL@gmail.com

