To Dance Argentine Tango is a Miracle: 2 videos by da-AL

A year ago January, I messed up my left knee big time in a skiing accident. Recovery was horrendous, as was dealing with insurance. It wasn’t till July that I was healed enough for surgery. A few weeks before the big day, however, I slipped at Trader Joe’s and broke more parts of the same knee. That second fall meant postponing surgery.

A blessing! As I waited anew for surgery, I found a wonderful orthopedist who suggested that I might not need cutting after all! Lo and behold, fourteen months later, my knee is almost perfect! I can dance!

Here are a couple of short clips of my husband and me practicing Tango Elegante steps taught to us by a fab duo.

Update on my learning about blogging: Resolution on these videos is minuscule and there’s no sound — the camera was, “from the era of the mummies,” as my mom would say.

A great youtube video on how to use iMovie enabled me to trim the ends. Turns out WordPress.com only allows video links, as opposed to uploads. Hence, I opened a youtube account, uploaded the clips there, and then linked them below. Since starting this blog, I continue to join more sites. So far I’m on FaceBook, Twitter, and YouTube. Figuring out the best setting for all of them takes time. So does figuring out how to make the best use of them. Suggestions welcome!

What you think of the new background (a section of a flamenco themed monoprint I made) and how text now scrolls while the background remains static?

Opinions welcome throughout. When you click on a link, do prefer it to open into new browser tab or into this tab?

Did you know that dogs like to dance too? At least ours do!

My review for Yelp about the knee-saving orthopedist (note: he’s since relocated to a neighboring suite).
The terrific Tango Elegante teachers.
A good iMovie how-to.
WordPress.com is free!
23 thoughts on “To Dance Argentine Tango is a Miracle: 2 videos by da-AL

    • You are kind. After posting it, I realized that I hadn’t told the real story behind these particular videos — which is how fortunate I am to be able to be dancing again! – so I’ve revised it.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love your background!!!!! and its not moving feature. I had no idea how difficult this tango is. You and Khashayar look terrific! So glad your knee has improved

    Liked by 1 person

    • The background is part of 1 monoprint of a series of 4, flamenco themed, from before we took up Argentine Tango. Tango is difficult, but I doubt anything I take up will ever be as difficult as flamenco was for me. Flamenco is a performance dance usually dance solo, so tango is a new fun experience of dancing socially and with a partner.

      Like

  2. Sorry to learn that you had such a time with your knee but glad for your recovery. Loved watching the two of you doing the tango so beautifully. Pleased that your dogs like to dance, also!

    Like

    • Thanks, Joe – your kind words are much appreciated. Love your blog! Have you ever read Art & Fear by Ted Orland? Your writings & insights remind me of that book, which is short chapters on how the most successful artists just to get on with making a bunch of art, rather than get stuck on perfecting only one project.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Forgot to ask – is there a lot of tango in Wisconsin? here in Los Angeles county, there’s some, but we definitely need more! Also, what led you to my blog?

        Like

      • Thanks for reading! I’m an Argentine Tango instructor, so I’m very sensitive to knee/leg injuries – it must have been tough to be off the dance floor during the recovery period!
        I haven’t read Art & Fear, but it sounds likes something I should check out – Thanks again!

        wisconsintango.wordpress.com/

        Like

        • Am amazed it healed up so well. Helped that doc said that doesn’t hurt to use it even if I need surgery in future. I am active & hated to miss out on walking dogs, etc. As for dancing, my husband is more the dance addict than I am – I felt bad that he was missing his partner, despite fact that once he realized that my knee situation might take quite a while for me to get back on the dance floor, he kept up with classes.

          Like

  3. Yes, there’s quite a bit of Tango here in Wisconsin 🙂 I love the weather in southern CA – hopefully I’ll be able to make it out there again before long. I was curious to see if there were other tango blogs out there on WordPress, and yours came up during a search 🙂

    Like

    • Thx for reply – yes, we have terrific weather here! Let me know if you visit & perhaps my husband & I can meet up with you at one of our fave tango spots.

      Like

  4. Daal re dogs dancing = at the Long Beach Animal Control on Spring Street they actually have class lessons on dog dancing for dogs!!!! Mary Ann

    Like

  5. You two look great together!! Love seeing it. Wish I could have heard music with it!
    Daal, very glad your knee is doing so well,,,,,yay!
    Thanks for sharing!
    Helen

    Liked by 1 person

Share the joy: click buttons and engage with us. *** Note: WordPress insists ‘likers’ sign in. ‘Commenters,’ fortunately, need not. My email: ContactdaAL@gmail.com

