Flamenco and the Sitting Cat: a video intro to my novel by da-AL

“Flamenco & the Sitting Cat” is a twelve-part serialized literary novel I wrote!

Among the events that inspired me to write it is how, when I was growing up, my mom often supported the family. Given that between my parents and me, we were from three different countries, my earliest memories have to do with questioning how gender and culture shape us.

By the time I turned forty, I had won a number of journalism honors. Among them was an Emmy nomination and then an Emmy award for documentaries that I produced on social issues. That year that I turned forty, I married a wonderful man who added yet another country to my family’s mix.

I regard my life as a series of ongoing ‘coming of ages.’ Not just the traditional one of when I was eighteen and left my parents’ apartment to live on my own and support myself. This got me to wondering, ‘what if there was a 40-year-old-virgin-woman, not in terms of sex, but as far as trusting straight men and the institution of marriage?’

I love challenges, so I decided to learn to write fiction. The protagonist would have to be the most difficult to depict; a woman who is neither young nor old. The supporting characters would have to be an intercultural mix of personalities as multidimensional and confusing as people are in real life.

The twelve installments of “Flamenco and the Sitting Cat” comprise a sort of anti-novel that illustrates the need for tolerance and that happiness is available to any of us — during any of our coming of ages!

As the story unfolds over these posts, I’d love to know what you think about the novel’s content and unfolding. Any first-hand experience with successfully promoting literary fiction for adults would be welcome too.

43 thoughts on “Flamenco and the Sitting Cat: a video intro to my novel by da-AL

  1. Your novel sounds so intriguing and I for one can’t wait to read it! I wish you bucket loads of success with it. 🙂
    I also like the idea of many ‘coming of ages’ – because it is true that at different stages of our lives we discover new things, new ways to be. And we are continually changing – we don’t just get to 18 or 21 and become ‘adults’ and life just becomes a plateau. We are (I speak for women here)* always changing, growing, discovering and each decade opens up new doors and sometimes to open up a new door, we have to firmly lock previous doors and choose not to enter them again in order to move on and move forward. I realise I am rambling here and will now shut up! :))))

    * Men might feel differently about evolving and changing.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Wow! That’s amazing. For the past years I’ve been frustrated at not being able to finish a novel whenever I try to. But then I think of JK Rowling. And now, you! It’s never too late to write and publish a novel! Cheers to you! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        • the hardest thing is to get to the end of the 1st draft – a good teacher told me that one needs to get to the end as quickly as one can – otherwise it is too easy to end up rewriting the first pages over & over

          Like

  2. That sounds like a really interesting premise. Heading on over to Amazon now to see if I can ‘Look Inside’. 🙂
    Okay – I’m back. Where is this novel available? I can’t find it anywhere!
    Slightly frustrated.
    Kindness – Robert.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey Da Al,
    Wow your novel sounds intriguing to say the least. I’m a big fan of flamenco and live in Seville, I’ve been here for 12 years and am married to a Sevillana and we have two Spanish kids. I’m also about to publish my own novel about flamenco, love and cultural differences, but on Amazon. I’d love to send you a copy when it’s ready so you could read it. Look forward to reading yours. Best of luck. Barry

    Liked by 1 person

Share the joy: click buttons and engage with us. *** Note: WordPress insists ‘likers’ sign in. ‘Commenters,’ fortunately, need not. My email: ContactdaAL@gmail.com

